Into the West

Standard
the-boat-and-miss-liberty2.jpg

Entry to this week’s Friday Fictioneers!

Adrift at sea, I watch the sun set.

It tarries a bit, longer than I expect.

Perhaps its the setting, a horizon unbroken.

Waiting for a sign, some message, a token.

And then she appeared. Liberty’s flame.

Courage I asked her, torch bearer, no dame.

So she hands me a lantern, and whispers in my ear.

Light for the night, may others appear.

And then she vanished, the lantern ablaze.

I pick up my paddle, spirits raised.

West I go!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

